Finally found Einhänder

Einhänder is a game I have been looking for since I became totally obsessed with “Shoot ‘ em up” games back in 2006, specially, the ones that its you against the world navigating a space ship destroying everything that moves on the screen. I knew about this game when looking for the top ten best games of this genre, and it was classified rare and expensive for many reason, besides the fact that it is actually a really good game. Well, this game I found it today, on a special display on a comic convention in Sacramento, California, so I bought it, cheap. Boom.

Einhänder came out for the Playstation one back in 1997 and it received a cult status because it was done by SquareSoft who at the time focused on RPG games, yet they managed to make a one hit wonder of this game. Many people praised it cause of its soundtrack, gameplay and graphics. Here is a taste of it:

Pretty Amazing right? Even if you are not into this you must agree. I like the ambience of the game and how the music fits the hectic constant action. Now, to be honest I haven’t played the game, I stopped at work on my way home to keep programming some stuff for it but first thing I will do when I get home, besides warming some slices of pizza from Saturday, will be to play this game, and then have my final opinion.

Now, one thing that actually bothered me is that I got this single disk game, cheap, cause it was expensive years ago… but I realized the price drop was due that this game is available in the PSN now as a download, but since I do not own a PS3 -yet- I don’t have to worry. Still, I decided to look for it on Ebay, and I found it for the same price, COMPLETE (with case and book) and in the town I am actually RIGHT NOW. Freaky coincidence. Oh well, don’t matter I HAVE IT, AND I WILL PLAY IT.. if I get off soon.

Leave a comment